Following Not So Well

My older sister Jolè used to do this one thing with my younger sister and me. She would drive around our little town while the two of us lay down in the reclined seat with our eyes closed. We had to pay close attention to the turns and straightaways, and she would have us guess “where are we now?” It was so simple yet so much fun. We were together. And we didn’t have to think about trusting our older sister…..we just did. It didn’t freak us out that we could not see where we were going. We knew we were safe wherever we went with her.

Well, life lately is this journey that is less an adventure than it is a fearsome executing of hairpin turns on a mountain road in a three-wheeled vehicle.

Who in her right mind would remain on such a journey?

I would. I am belted in securely…no chance of being ejected or thrown from this vehicle called “That’s Life.” I trust that no matter how uncertain things are, they would be infinitely hopeless without faith.

And so I remain a sojourner on a zero-visibility route to wherever it is I am going. I know that even 100% visibility would hinder my way; I would trust my ability to follow my Lord more than I would trust His ability to lead me. Surely the result would be less than wonderful. His leading is perfect; and my following……not so much.

Traveling this road with my husband — my best friend — and our children makes the journey less terrifying, if only just a bit. We survive the anxiety of life’s blind curves by sharing laughter, finding moments of value in simply being together. We find respite in one another’s company, relishing the distraction from what swirls around us.

We white-knuckle the journey as a family, emerging from the back side of each trial with a “Whew, we made it,” a few high-fives and lots of “Hallelujahs.”

If I don’t see where I’m going, I’ll count myself blessed. If nothing else, it’s a pleasant reminder of a great sister who taught me how to trust.

© Alexa Lopez 2008

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

Leave a comment